Fear and Loathing

I do enjoy watching riots on TV. Living in Wigan there are many disincentives to rioting. Firstly, the weather. It’s very damp here. Secondly, people are no longer fit enough to riot due to a diet of pies. Thirdly, it’s hard to get excited about looting a pound shop or Aldi.
I’ve found it somewhat annoying though to be unable to comment on the riots in the newspapers. I suppose that there is the legal element to it as essentially the riots are criminal acts.
I’m in two minds about the recent events. My cynical side thought straight away that these people just wanted to steal some new stuff. However there is part of me that wonders if this is somewhat inevitable. That if you create an underclass, that is illiterate and dependant on welfare then they will inevitably be excluded from mainstream society and won’t give a monkeys about looting and burning down buildings.

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

Leave a Reply

