Planning permission

I’ve stopped planning things, making lists and setting goals.
I used to do these things earlier in my life and on reflection all I can say is “what was the point of that?”.
Instead, I now accept that life is littered with random events and most of these fall into one of two categories, miserable and horrible. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m quite happy with many things in my life. My wife is sexy and my son is witty. I can belt out a tune and my acting career can only improve. It’s just that when random stuff happens in life, it throws a curve ball into ones plans.
John Lennon famously sang “Life is what happens to you when your busy making other plans”. I’m not a huge fan of his work to be honest, but I think he hit the nail on the head with this one.
Listening to whims is interesting. My earlier post ‘even my browser is insecure’ alluded to some of the whims I’ve been following recently.
I was researching my extremely difficult novel yesterday whilst at the gym. I was irritable however. I was irritated by other people and their behaviour. I did wonder what the point of some behaviours were and was interested in my own responses. For example, I questioned why I felt annoyed when some chap decided to admire his midriff in the mirror. Why was I irritable in the sauna when a young boy (aprox 11) came into the steam room and left the door open and then spent time slapping his feet against the floor.
You see, I planned to go to the gym, do my exercise and then have a sauna afterwards. This was my plan, indeed this was my folly. Random chance dictated that I would encounter individuals whose behaviour I found annoying. The question I had uppermost in my mind though was “Why am I irritated?” and this lead to “Am I irritated?” which lead to “How do I let go of this, how do I rid myself of desire?”

Answers on a post card please.

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

Leave a Reply

