One word at a time

My ‘novel’ isn’t going well at all. So much so that I am tempted to throw it into the bin and make a fresh start. I’ve started with a character that is essentially a dork. Not good. Also far too much detail in the mundane details of his life.

There probably isn’t a need to describe the colour of their shower curtain. But I’m afraid that’s what I’ve been doing. So, I’m going to throw it in the bin. Far too much in terms of ‘back story’ and far too much in terms of giving the characters a hint of reality. This is a big mistake. Characters in books aren’t meant to eat toast for breakfast with a dodgy toaster that invariably burns the toast.

Instead I will start this time with the view point of the villain of the piece. A misogynistic, charismatic psychopath. I feel confident that readers would at least be interested in this guy rather than a weedy chap who lives with his auntie.

I’ve had a feeling of dread when it comes to writing. It doesn’t help that at the moment I’m satiated. By that, I mean that I’m blissfully happy with meditation, plenty of acting opportunities and I keep reading great books.

The curse being that whatever I read, I wish ‘I could have written that’.

I’m currently scouting for jobs too. Something that will go with my essentially ‘lazy’ attitude and fits in with my egotistical demands for dramatic roles!!

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

2 Responses to One word at a time

  1. gregoryno6 says:

    I have a little writing experience myself, and I’ve found there are two major hurdles to overcome: first, getting words on the page, and second, knowing which words to take off the page.

    Find a copy of The Adding Machine, a selection of essays by William S Burroughs, if you can. He makes a few points that resonated with me. Especially the part where he writes something that seems like pure genius at it’s coming down, but on review a few days later – “My God, tear it up into very small pieces and throw it in someone else’s garbage can.”

    If you can put the writing aside for three or four months you’ll find your emotional reaction much diminished and you can assess the writing almost as if it was done by someone else. And who knows? Maybe the colour of the shower curtain IS important, after all.

  2. Charles Bukoswki wrote that he would shove his writing in a drawer for 3 weeks an look at it with fresh eyes. He binned most of his work!

Leave a Reply

