A very British obsession

I do enjoy the peculiarities of my nation. The constant desire to drink tea, the toilet humour and the mistrust of anyone with ‘perfect’ teeth.

One particular thing I’ve noted this week is the  British ability to talk about the weather. Britain doesn’t really do ‘climate’. We tend to just have ‘weather’. More often than not it’s raining in the north of England. One would expect that these expected bouts of precipitation would mean little more than ensuring a brolly was always at hand. But no!

A 30 minute discussion can take place between virtual strangers on the fact that it is raining.

Similarly, when the sun shines and the temperature reaches double figures, it is possible to hear comments such as ‘That sun’s hot”.

Of course, different cultures have their own ice-breakers. Canadians may talk about how many bears they’ve spotted in the garden that morning,  Belgian people may talk about how many people they have bored rigid too.

Note that as I mentioned earlier, the Brits like weather, not climate. Hence films that predict climate change are not terribly well received. If a British film were to be made about climate change then it would be a short film about a period of snow that lasted for 4 days and the entire country grinds to a halt. The ending of the film would show rain and people generally grumbling about it.

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

8 Responses to A very British obsession

  1. Last year I did a blog post featuring an article from the Telegraph about the British obsession with the weather. It made for interesting, yet also amusing, reading:

    http://eclecticephemera.blogspot.com/2010/10/and-now-weather.html

  2. Well said, indeed. My other favourite is to enter a country pub and ask for directions to the motorway. That’s good for a least a couple of hours of entertainment.

  3. elcampeador says:

    Well I’ll be damned, I found me a relative of yours on Twitter..

    @12lexy
    Alexis Brett-Bacon

    But, she’s a lefty. Then again the assumption is, she has one on the right, too. 😉

  4. Hmm, a think the phrase ‘worlds apart’ are adequate here.

  5. Andy J says:

    If you mistrust anyone with perfect teeth its probably because you can’t afford to have them fixed and cleaned or even better veneers.

    As an expat living in the US , I got tired of Americans sniggering at British teeth and the butt of all the dental jokes. British teeth are frequently ridiculed and often referred to as “rough as street of derelict houses” , that being said I got my veneers and have never been as happy. I can finally smile or laugh loudly without having to cover up a set of embarrassing choppers, and revealing my heritage.

Leave a Reply

