Interviews

I loathe interviews. I really don’t see how they help in recruiting people for jobs. Sure, if you are a complete slob or insane then that may come across but really, I find them somewhat degrading.

The thing is now however, I’m at the stage where I let interviewers know what I think of their questions.

Yesterday for example;

” What would you do to improve performance?”

My response was “well, that is a somewhat vague question, what do mean by performance, what do you measure ‘performance’ by? How would you know if you were performing or not?”

“Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”

“I don’t do 5 year plans. I’m suspicious of those that do to be honest. Chairman Mao and Stalin had 5 year plans”.

I think the underlying hostility from me can be simply pin pointed at the fact I really don’t want to work in mental health any more. The whole thing just bores me to tears. If somebody mentions working with violent people, my natural inclination is to say, well no thanks.

Indeed, I fully expect to be saying ‘No’ to any job offers coming up anyway. I know this goes against everything that is sensible, but for me, theatre has to come first.

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

Leave a Reply

