Mindchatter

One of the crimes of not pursuing the career of ones choice is that at some stage in one’s working life, the humble radio will begin to erode you from within.

Surely, you jest I imagine the many readers of this blog thinking to themselves. However, I have suffered listening to the most inane nonsense over the past two years that I no longer feel I can tolerate it.

I used to love music at one stage in my life. I was a terrible musician, murdering music on a regular basis on guitar, keyboard and most unforgivably, the tenor horn.

However, I now must listen to the most horrific sounds a human can commit. Indeed, when I complain about the dreadful racket of modern music, adored by the ladies in the building, then I am ridiculed.

However, forgive me if I am wrong but songs that include the lyrics “yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah, no, no, no, no, no” and are repeated every 20 minutes leave me little choice other than to contemplate homicide or suicide.

Then of course, we have the radio announcers. When I was younger these people were called DJ’s. They were utter gits of course, much like an over friendly teacher who insisted you call him by his first name. However, we all knew they were egotistical and essentially talentless.

However, modern presenters seem to have a symptom of a mood disorder called ‘pressure of speech’, essentially they cannot keep quiet.  They make no effort to entertain, instead they simply drone on endlessly in a monotone and slightly nasally voice.

So, excuse my rant for today, it’s just that it is bad enough trying to let go of ones own thoughts without being force fed the thoughts of others.

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

One Response to Mindchatter

  1. gregoryno6 says:

    Someone, and I do believe it was an Englishman, once described breakfast radio as ‘the palace of idiots’.

Leave a Reply

