Sex and the city…the male version

One of my problems is that I spend a huge amount of time reading newspapers. I read the Telegraph, the Independent, The Huffington post, The Guardian, The Mail and the BBC news site.

I’ve noticed that essentially a great deal of the writing on the site is basically filler.

It’s easy to spot filler. It focuses on things such as name dropping “Last week I had lunch at the Ivory with…Bobby Crush“. The name has to be dropped in some suitably trendy venue such as the Ivory or The Groucho club.

Another trick of the filler piece is the fatuous crisis article. The Daily Mail is of course notorious for this sort of behaviour “Gypsy immigrants in EU cucumber straightening outrage” is  a typical headline. In these articles, a psychotic, cocaine fuelled pig..sorry journalist waxes lyrical until his word count is achieved before he sends it to the editor.  In it he hints to the plots of Marxist homosexual muslims who invoke the spirit of Lady Di.

Ahem.

My point is, that much of what I write on here is utterly banal filler. I enjoy writing it for the most part, and I hope you enjoy reading it. I’m just curious how on Earth the journalists get paid for producing such guff?

 

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

Leave a Reply

