A rose by any other name

I do have a love of words. Some words simply thrill me, words such as ‘encyclopaedia’ are so well crafted that they titillate me!

One can imagine my disdain then at the current examples of modern English, words such as LOL, which technically is an abbreviation, but one hears actually expressed as a word, uttered aloud. The word ‘Woot’ which apparently is an exclamation of joy was added to the dictionary last year,  much to a chorus of groans.

I’m not such an old stickler that I don’t expect language to evolve, but I cannot help but think there could be more debate as to which words we enshrine in permanence.

Whilst Shakespeares influence on the English language is both admirable and prolific, the great bard himself came up with some words that impressed nobody at the time. Words such as ‘Kicky-Wicky’ which meant wife, ‘Near-legged’ which frankly I am a loss to explain, never took hold in the language.

One never hears the words ‘thou’ and ‘thee’ any more, I do still use some antiquated language on occasion, words such as crepuscule, to describe the hinterland between dusk and evening. I understand that this a quirk on my part, that words come and go out of usage.

I do have a thing about names however. I cannot abide names such as ‘Kai’ or ‘Jai’, both of which are in evidence at my son’s primary school. The repulsive Beckham family have a great deal of explaining to do at NoBacon towers with their insistence on using ridiculous names for their offspring.

It seems that we are running out of Roberts, Richards, Geralds, Vivians, Peggys and Olives. Instead our future lies in the hands of people who sound as though they were named after characters in Star Wars. When I am in my 80’s I shall be highly suspicious of anyone called Dr Jar-Jar Binx.

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

2 Responses to A rose by any other name

  1. elcampeador says:

    Are you still with us, good sir? Don’t make me contact, that mad Aussie lad, Grogory. OOPPS Sorry, Gregory.

  2. Gregoryno6 says:

    Your prolonged silence has not gone unnoticed, sir, I hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

