The night belongs to me

Well, first night shift since 1998 completed.

I was the only nurse to look after 23 people and it took me almost 3 hours to do all the drug rounds.

Saying that, it was jolly good and there were no problems.

It’s a strange thing working nights though.  It’s so quiet and peaceful and I quite like seeing the appearance of the dawn.

I wasn’t expecting however to work split nights. This means that I’m going to be working a Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday Thursday and then back on Saturday.

It’s going to take a lot to get used to this system. I feel a little light-headed and floaty at times with this regime.

Hmm.

 

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

One Response to The night belongs to me

  1. Gregoryno6 says:

    Daft is the word all right. I worked shifts for five years, rotating between afternoon day and night. Depending on the cycle we’d get a break of three or eight days. The short break barely gave me enough time to get straight before it started all over again.

Leave a Reply

