To embrace the sunshine once more

I have quit my night job! No more shall I be enduring 90+hr working weeks, the soul-crushing non-existence between shifts. Indeed, so exhausted was I that I had no impetus to blog, nor indeed to read a newspaper.
My rare nights off meant that my sleep pattern was of no use to a chap with a family, nor indeed one whose primary interests are on stage.
A whole season of auditions seems to have passed me by and I have sorely missed this.
I did however manage to borrow a Kindle from a family member and have read somewhat extensively during the nights.
From Hitchens, to Dickens, from Will Self to Margaret Atwood and Shakespeare to Moby Dick.
To be seen reading at 4am by colleagues produced the usual response of shock and horror. Without spending my time with illustrious authors I fear that my own sanity would have fragmented into a million pieces too.

About lordegburtnobacon
Greetings! I appreciate a fine Tweed and my hobbies include drinking heavily and acting. However I do not mix the two.

2 Responses to To embrace the sunshine once more

  1. Lee says:

     
    I know that feeling all too well I’m on my 3rd of 5 nights. My life is on hold, I feel knackered even when I’ve slept. I’m grumpy, tired, constipated. I hideaway in the office breading the words “Can I have 1-1 time”. I can only focus to read a Now magazine, even that’s a struggle, I have no idea who I’m reading about but most of them are from Essex.
    Even when I’ve finished nights it takes me 3 days to recover, by that time I’m back at work on days, then I’ll wake at 2am willing for sleep knowing I’ve got to be up for 6am!    

  2. Gregoryno6 says:

    I worked a rotating shift for five years and never really got used it. Men who’d been there many more years said exactly the same thing.

Leave a Reply

